Board of Directors & Staff


James Blessman, MD
FCI Founder & Board Member Emeritus
Blessman Ministries

Stephen Eckstat, DO
Emergency Room Physician & Health Care Consultant
FCI Board President & Medical Director

Tim Gutshall, MD
Vice President, Chief Medical Officer
FCI Vice-President
Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Kenneth Butters, JD
Attorney at Law
FCI Secretary
Brick, Gentry, Bowers, Swartz, Stoltze & Levis, PC

Karl Vilums
Chief Financial Officer
FCI Treasurer
Broadlawns Medical Center

Wendy Gray, MS
FCI Executive Director

Jeff Dumermuth
FCI Member Services Coordinator


Richard L. Deming, MD
Medical Director
Mercy Cancer Center

Pamela A. Duffy, PT, PhD, OCS, RP
Assistant Professor, MPH Program
Des Moines University

Jill Hamilton
Corporate Communications Director
Delta Dental of Iowa

Jack Hatch
Hatch Development

James Hayes
Executive Director
Des Moines Pastoral Counseling Center

James Hobson
National Director
Christ-Life Ministries

David Lyons
The Iowa Institute

Bob Russell, DDS, MPH
Chief, Oral & Health Delivery Systems
Iowa Department of Public Health

Larry Severidt, MD
Director of Medical Education & Family Medicine Residency Program
Broadlawns Medical Center

Judy Stark, MS, MBA
Healthcare Consultant
JDS Consulting

Tess Young, JD
Young Consulting Inc.